Consuming Nature

Consuming is part of life. Humans need to consume food and oxygen in order to go on having a body. But after reading Jennifer Price’s essay “Looking for Nature at The Mall,” I was focused on a different kind of consumption. I remember stores like The Nature Company profiled in the essay. We had a Natural Wonders store in our mall, and it was one of my favorite places to go as a child. I wanted almost everything in the store: animal t-shirts, animal toys, rain sticks (oh to have a rain stick of my very own!), everything appealed to me. I still love animals, conservation, music, quality handmade items, and learning about different cultures and traditions. But I have stopped looking for them at the mall. Yes I buy clothes made by underpaid workers in Malaysia, but having them stamp a Navajo or “African” print on those clothes seems to be going too far. Likewise, I also don’t want authentic southwestern pottery if I’ve never been there. I don’t wear feathers or shells that I haven’t earned. Do I want to conserve habitat for wild animals? Yes. Will I accomplish this goal by carrying around a canvas bag with a bird painted on it? No. There are certain things you just can’t buy and I count nature and culture among them.

I understand the appeal of the idea that you can buy everything you want. But I don’t think it’s true. it seems like consuming doesn’t lead to satisfaction, it leads to more consuming. I don’t like to operate on assumptions, so I looked up some research on the topic. Turns out shopping and buying things makes people more anxious and depressed, not more satisfied and happy. I also found another interesting study on happiness. Maybe we should all think more about how we spend our time on Earth and less about how we spend our money.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

